Majestic Brandon Hall was formerly a large working cotton plantation located on the scenic Natchez Trace. The land on which Brandon Hall now stands first passed into private ownership as a royal grant from the Spanish King Carlos III in 1788. In 1809 the property was sold at public auction to William Lock Chew for the sum of $7,000. Chew constructed the first permanent dwelling consisting of a three room brick house about twenty by sixty feet, built sometime between 1809 and 1820. This structure still exists as the "basement" of the present house known as Brandon Hall.
In 1833 Chew sold the property to Nathaniel Hoggatt, a successful planter who's daughter Charlotte inherited the land after his death. On October 29, 1840, Charlotte Hoggatt married Gerard Brandon III, who was the son of an early Governor of Mississippi and the grandson of a Revolutionary War Hero of the same name. They lived in this original dwelling until 1853, when they began construction of Brandon Hall which was completed in 1856.
In January of 1914, the plantation, house, and land was sold to George Hightower as a result of a default on a promissory note, thus ending an 81 year chain of ownership by the Brandon and Hoggatt families. These 81 years extended from Mississippi's frontier days during the period of grace and plenty before the Civil War, and through the South's darkest hours after the war.
From 1914 until the present, Brandon Hall Plantation has had ten owners. In 1987, the home was completely renovated and restored perfectly duplicating the original construction. With the work that has been done, Brandon Hall Plantation will endure several more generations for visitors to enjoy a fascinating and glorious past.